top of page

3 Thrifting Tips and Tricks

Updated: Dec 30, 2020

Thrifting can be very overwhelming and disappointing. Sometimes, we go in hoping to find a cool jacket, vintage jeans, or a cozy sweater but come out empty-handed. Today, we are going in locked and loaded. I'm here to give you 3 quick and easy tips, so you leave the thrift store feeling accomplished.


  1. Budget

Budgeting is key! Especially nowadays. There's no need to spend $60 on one vintage/thrift item, when you can walk out with an entire outfit for that price. I always go in with a plan. For instance, $50 for the day. You heard me! That's it. It is so easy to find a sweater ranging from 10-15 bucks, jeans for no more than $20 and a cute bag for $10. It is possible!


I've walked out of stores many times with a full head to toe look with this budget. The only time I break the budget, is if there's something so unique and one of a kind that I cannot stop thinking about. If that is the case, I do not mind putting in a little more of my hard- earned money. Other than that, stick with the budget! You will be happy you did!

2. Know what you want

Looking through so much requires a lot of patience. I normally advise my friends to have a goal. What are you looking for? Jeans, a sweater, or a new bag? That's great to keep in mind so you can bypass all the other racks and go straight to what you need. Of course, if you are looking to just look and don't particularly need anything, that's fine too. It allows you to be more open-minded to other pieces you might not have looked at before. For the most part, I often suggest having a plan. It saves so much time and allows you to have time to hit more stores for the day.


3. Try it on

Sometimes when thrifting there are some extremely unique items you stumble across. That's the cool part, right? We do NOT want to be like everyone else. We want to find items that speak to our personality. Often, we're too scared to try it because we often go to what we know. I always tell my friends, do not walk away until you try it on. You gave that item a look for a reason, so why not put it on? It might seem unique at the time, but that's the cool thing about style. When YOU put it on, it automatically becomes different.



 

This jacket is one of my favorite thrifts. Can you guess how much I paid for this aviator jacket? I will give you a hint. It was less than $20.



27 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page